Cat in the Hat

Its time for a little Halloween fun at Lemon Tree Snippets.  You don’t have to be Dr. Seuss to be inspired by this seasonal feline project.  All it took was a stack of fabrics in fun fall colors, a page from a coloring book, and a few sewing room tricks to make this little treat.  This project is for the Island Batik Pumpkin Fest tour,  but there won’t be any pumpkins for this Cat in the Hat project.

pumpkin-fest

Today, I’m making a lined bag for some tempting halloween treats.  To begin, I selected fabrics from my Island Batik Ambassador stash.  These are from the Fall Collection, on the market now.  The palette for this project ranges from deep purple, to bright orange, with just a hint of green.  The second one (pictured below) has got to be my favorite!  The batik pattern will add just the right spooky touch to this quick project.  I’ll be using #Aurifil threads to complete the satin stitching on the applique.

file-oct-30-2-36-53-pm

I think one of the best places to find inspiration for applique is a coloring book. The designs are always simple, easy to trace, and fun to transform. Today, I found this cute Cat in the Hat outline and knew he was destined to become a batik beauty.

file-oct-30-2-37-08-pm

For this project I’m using two of my favorite products.  For the fusible web, I’ve selected SoftFuse.  I’ve recently started using this and really like it.  The glue is fused easily to the back of the fabric and the paper peels off very easy while it is still warm.  The sticky adhesive on the back of the fabrics does not gum up the needle when you sew. I love that!

To stabilize the back of my applique design, I’m using Ricky Tims Stable Stuff Poly.  Just check my blog history for the number of times I’ve used this and you’ll know that this is a product that works for smooth satin stitching.  There are never puckers when I use this, no matter which thread – it works fantastic every time.
file-oct-30-3-20-19-pm

After I traced all of the cat pieces onto the the Soft Fuse, I cut them out, arranged them on the background of my project (the deep purple) and fused them in place.  I used 505 Spray adhesive for a temporary hold on the Stable Stuff Poly on the back of the project and I was ready to start the satin stitching

file-oct-30-2-37-25-pm

I used Aurifil Thread to match each of the background colors, and slowly outlined the design in a 2.5 wide satin stitch.  I reduced the stitch width to 1.5 to outline the whiskers and mouth.  Just a side note, I was going to use the pink for his nose, but it was too bright, and I decided to stick with the purple instead.

kitty

When the applique was complete, it was time to turn this into a bag with a lining.  There are plenty of tutorials online for creating a lined drawstring bag. After a quick search, I was ready to turn the cat into a bag.The inside of the bag uses the spooky Island Batik print that I love so much, this makes the project a reversible bag.

file-oct-30-2-37-44-pm

Here is my cute Halloween Cat in the Hat bag.  Right now there are treats hiding inside. A purrfect place to keep them for snacking on later.

file-oct-30-2-38-08-pm

A side note to all:  Not every project turns out to be something you love.  Occasionally, we all all finish projects we don’t like.  This happened to me on my first shot at creating a halloween project.  I tried to make a Jack-o-Lantern in Batik and he just came out too scary…   Some things are better left for others.  To see more posts from the #islandbatikpumpkinfest quilters, please check out our pinterest board!

2016-10-09-11-51-36

4 thoughts on “Cat in the Hat

  1. your cat is just so cute, love the fabrics and the bag. Actually, I also like your scary pumpkin. You do such an amazing job on all of your projects, you are an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

