Count my Blessings Quilt

Hello!  Today is the final day of the Creative New Quilts blog hop.  This two week  hop, hosted by the Island Batik Ambassadors, has been such a breath of fresh air! I am just blown away with some of the creative projects I’ve seen.

BookThe hop features projects from Creative New Quilts and Projects from Precuts or Stash, by Wendy Sheppard.  You know, when I go into a shop anymore, those little pre-packaged fabric collections that call you over and beg you to take them home?   I always wondered what you could do with those – and now there is a whole book of projects that just work!    We’ve taken these projects and created a BATIK version for you – Yes, Eye Candy!

One of the things I like most about these projects is that they are all smaller projects and easily adaptable to your quilting style.  Sometimes, its nice to have something to make that won’t take long, won’t tax your math skills, and I find the projects inspiring!  The book includes projects that will add whimsy to your home.

The project I worked on is called Birds of a Feather.  A small quilt that inspired me to think of spring. The background is pieced with 2-1/2 strips and the YoYo’s were made from 5″ squares.  The branches were cut from 10″ squares and fused to the background.

Count My Blessings
(copyright image) Original photo from Creative New Quilts book.

I had the option of selecting fabrics from any of the Island Batik Collections and decided on the London Fog grouping for this project.  In fact, I like making it so much that I’m thinking of making a second one in fall colors.

The London Fog collection is shown below. Isn’t it great?

1-background

2-yoyos

To begin this project I started by laying out the strips and creating the background.

2016-02-08 17.33.582016-03-03 09.51.47

I learned how to make YoYo’s and found some fun flowers in my embellishment stash to add even more spring whimsy to this fun piece. I liked making the YoYo’s and decided they are fun to make.  Aurifil threads are so nice for the hand work on these for a couple of reasons.  It glides smooth around the disk and and is also strong when you pull and gather the circles. The other reason is that it comes in so many beautiful colors. My collection is growing – I might have to add some from Wendy Sheppard’s collection!

2016-03-19 10.33.36-1
Aurifil threads, YoYo’s, and fun embellishments.

You might be able to see in the pictures below that I also used Superior Fantastico Threads to do a little thread painting on the branches. This added texture to the branches.File Mar 25, 12 06 33 AM

You can see on the back of the foundation that I’ve used stabilizer to prevent puckers when I did the thread painting.  The excess stabilizer (I used Ricky Tim’s Stable Stuff) was torn away before I quilted.

2016-03-19 11.50.24

For the quilting, I used some more Superior Fantastico Variegated threads (Color 5075 Silverado) in a light blue and light grey variegated colorway. It blended so nice with the Island Batik fabrics.

2016-03-21 08.05.36
(still need to hand stitch the YoYo’s down)

I keep saying this, but by now you should just expect a surprise when I make these small wall quilts. On this one I decided to also use my Swarovski Hot Fix crystals.  Bling, Bling, Bling!  This quilt has it all.  Its got thread painting, YoYo’s, Embroidered flowers, Couching, Aurifil Thread, Superior Thread, and Island Batik fabrics, all packed into this piece that finished at about 24″ x 30″.

2016-03-19 14.59.18

This one is showing a little bit of the thread painting (texture on the branches) and the quilting.

2016-03-19 14.56.43

And one last shot of the full finished quilt.

2016-03-19 14.59.21

You can order this hard copy book from Landauer here!  OR – You can download the eBook here.You can even check out Wendy’s site and purchase it directly from the author.

OR – You can add your name to my  book Giveaway here.   I’ll draw a winner at 8:00 tonight.  If you win, the book will be drop shipped from the publisher to your US address.  And don’t forget to go back and get another look at all of the projects featured on the Creative New Quilts blog hop.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

12 thoughts on “Count my Blessings Quilt

  1. Oh I do love that London Fog fabric line. This was my second choice of quilts to make. Looks like I’m going to have to do one myself!

Leave a Reply

