Leprechaun Laundry

Mini-Madness-Graphic

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Whether you are Irish or not, on March 17th, we all turn our inner Leprechauns loose.  Maybe you like to cook a big St. Patty’s day dinner, indulge in Irish potatoes, or sip an ice cold green beverage.  Me?  I’ve been busy working on some Leprechaun Laundry.  I’m not talking about tiny green jackets, hats, and boots. I’m talking about chain piecing tiny green squares of fabric for the Island Batik Ambassador #MiniMaddnessIB challenge.

The Ambassadors #MiniMadnessIB challenge is running for the entire month of March.  The rules were very simple: Use Island Batik fabrics to make a mini quilt no bigger than 24″x24″. Complete it and share it before the end of  March.  My project is a little green and white quilt that I’ve dubbed “Leprechaun Laundry”. You’ll see why in just a minute.

2-yoyos

For this project I’m using fresh green fabrics from the Island Batik London Fog collection. These fabrics are in your quilt shops now.  The line has more than just green, but in this project, we’ll be sticking with just the green fabrics.

File Mar 14, 4 49 26 PM

The thread I’ve chosen to use is Aurifil 50wt 100% cotton.  This thread is perfect for sewing seams on these tiny pieces because it helps to prevent bulky thread build up and leaves a nice smooth finish.  I’ve also used it for the quilting on this one because it is a mini – and I didn’t want a heavy finish.  And you know, here at Lemon Tree Snippets, I love to add fun surprises to my quilts.  I had these Spare Parts from The Paper Studio (I’m using them in another project too!) will add just the right amount of lucky bling to this Leprechaun quilt.

IMG_0728

I’ve selected some very basic blocks for my mini quilt.  I’ll be making 12 blocks total: Six of them will be  Snowball Blocks and the other six will be Nine-Patch Blocks.  The blocks are 3″ finished.  The center of the snowballs are cut at 3-1/2″ squares and the small squares are all cut at 1-1/2″ each.  The borders will be 3/4″ of an inch wide. The binding is also scaled down to a 1-3/4″ strip, and I’ve used a standard double fold method to attach by machine.

2016-03-13 16.04.46

The laundry line began with those 1.5″ squares, chain pieced, in a green/white order.  The seam allowance I used was 1/4″, as always, this is the best size for seams when making quilts. Sewing tiny squares is a little more difficult that making larger units, mostly because if you’re off – the tiniest bit – it shows!  From these doubles, I added either another green, or another white square to make sets of 3 squares in a row.  And, you know it, 3 sets of 3 will give you a basic Nine Patch block.

The Snowball block backgrounds are cut at 3″ and the corners are cut at 1-1/2″ squares. The corners are also 1-1/2″ squares.  I used the flip and fold method to add the corner triangles to the snowballs. Be sure to trim those extra little ears off of the backs to keep the bulk down.  I had these 12 little blocks done pretty quickly and added a border of appropriate mini scale.

This #MiniMadnessIB quilt finished at 16″ x 13″

2016-03-14 14.31.43

Absolutely NO Leprachaun is complete who does not have a pot of gold!  Right?  I had these tiny flowers, from The Paper Studio, that matched the quilt perfectly.  I used them to add a wee-bit of bling to this lucky little project.  Please check out the Island Batik on Facebook  to follow the Ambassadors Mini Madness Challenge.  These mini quilts are fun to make!

Here are a few more posts to check out.  Some up and some are coming soon..  Have fun and check back for more #MiniMadnessIB fun!

March 16 – Connie Kresin Campbell and Joan Kawano
Mar 17 – Nancy Myers  and Patti Bochey (you’re already here)
Mar 18 – Bea Lee
Mar 19 – Vicki Schlimmer
Mar 20 – Barbara Ross Douglas

5 thoughts on “Leprechaun Laundry

Leave a Reply

