Planes, Trains, Automobiles – and Diamonds!

PTA-Blog-Hop-Button-Small

Hello! And welcome to the Island Batik Ambassador’s Planes, Trains, and Automobiles Blog Hop. We are excited to be sharing our journeys, travels, and quilting inspirations with you. This hop also offers a sneak peak at the collections that Island Batik will be introducing at Spring Market!

 

 

Today I am taking you to the famously picturesque views of Oahu Island from Waikiki Beach to Diamond Head by way of the Island Batik Desert Rose collection and a wonderful new pattern called Dangling Diamonds by KiSSed Quilts.

Waikiki sunset

 

The Hawaiian Adventure!

More than a few years after our visit to this fabulous Hawaiian landmark the azure skies, tropical island views, and jagged trails of Diamond Head crater still inspire me. That’s why, when I saw the Dangling Diamonds pattern – I knew they were destined to be combined. Can you see the colors of the Hawaiian sunset in those segments?

DesertRose

What you will need:

There are large diamonds and small diamonds strung together on a solid background. I used six of the fabrics from the new Desert Rose collection to bring out the colors of the Hawaiian sunset.  The background I used is a white mottled batik that reads as a solid.

I always start a new project by reading through the directions from start to finish. I am a visual person and like to check out the illustrations and diagrams to make sure I understand the construction and have gathered all of my supplies. The instructions on this pattern are clear and easy to follow. It begins with cutting all of your pieces. I spent about 2 hours cutting – but once the pieces were cut I was ready to sew.

Diamond1

You will need the Boondoggle and the Baby Boondoggle rulers by Bella Nonna to make this quilt. The diamonds are not a standard size and this pattern was designed using these rulers for accurate cutting. If your local quilt shop does not have these on display, you can ask for them or order directly from Bella Nonna.

Cut all your pieces before you begin sewing

After your pieces are cut, the assembly is straight forward: The smaller diamonds are sewn together to create larger diamonds. These can be chain pieced and makes sewing the smaller units easy. I chain pieced for each color and then cut them apart and flipped them together to make the mixed diamonds.

Diamonds3

I always like to share tips with you and I’ve found a few things you may want to pay attention to while you are sewing this top. First, with a white background, you can avoid having the dark colors ghost through if you press your seams to the dark fabrics.

diamonds5

I learned precision piecing from a friend who taught me that it is always good practice to make sure your points match (even when you’re feeling lazy).  There is no harm in having rip a seam and sew it twice if your points don’t match up the first time. Visually, if the points match, you will be happier when you’re done.

Use a pin at the intersections to align those points, especially when you are using high contrasting colors like these sparkling Island Batiks on a white background.  Once the smaller diamonds are assembled into larger units the rest of the quilt goes together quickly.

Diamonds 6

Lay your pieces out on the floor or on your design wall to make sure you have them placed correctly in the layout. Note: The only change I opted to make to this pattern was to leave off the white end pieces on the left and right side of the quilt. I wanted those points to come right up the binding on my quilt. It was my choice – but you might want to keep those on your quilt if you make this pattern yourself. Build those rows by sewing them together into two diagonal halves and then into one top.

Diamonds7

This quilt was quilted by Kelley McKenzie of Quilt Toppings, a longarm quilter near my new home, who did a fabulous job with an all-over quilted pattern. (Thanks Kelley!)

Diamonds9

If you are in the western NC area and you want to see some more Island Batik fabrics, I know they have them at We’re Sew CreativeQuilters Loft Company  and  Ye Olde Forest Quilt Shop

Diamonds8

I was sew excited to find this Laurel Burch print at the Quilters Loft for the backing. DOGS! How cute are these little pups?! I love the way the colors in this print compliment the batiks in the top. Now – this is also my David Bowie quilt and I call it the Diamond Dogs!  By the way – that bundle in the photo could be yours!  Keep reading and enter the giveaway below.

That’s it!  SEW EASY and I love this pattern so much that I cut a kit and sent it to my mom to make. For her quilt I used different colors in the Desert Rose collection. Since my mom loves the colors of the southwest – her Dangling Diamond quilt will be in shades of turquoise and coral. She should receive her kit on just about the same day this blog is published.

File Feb 25, 4 33 17 PM

FAT QUARTER GIVEAWAY!

I have one more surprise! To thank-you for stopping by Lemon Tree today I’m giving away the Fat Quarter Bundle of Desert Rose Fabrics that you see in the photo below! All you have to do is add your name to this form. ENTER BY MARCH 4th.  I will draw a winner on the final day of the Planes, Trains, and Automobile blog hop.  Winner to be posted 3/4/16 at 5:00 EST

DesertRoseBundle
Enter to WIN this FQ Bundle

And don’t forget to participate in the Island Batik French Roasted FQ Giveaway by our blog hop sponsor! Check them out and sign up Rafflecopter giveaway 

 


Catch a train, plane, or automobile and follow the Blog Hop start to finish line!

Monday, February 15 – Caribbean Splash
Bejeweled Quilts
Pamela Quilts

Tuesday, February 16 – London Fog
Moose Stash Quilting

Wednesday, February 17 – French Roasted
KISSed Quilts
Made In Scraps
Happy Cottage Quilter

Thursday, February 18 – Crystal Cove
Freemotion by the River

Friday, February 19 – Florida Oranges
Fun Threads Designs
Kauffman Designs

Monday, February 22 – Coral Reef
Mary Mack Made Mine
Purrfect Spots Designs

Tuesday, February 23 – Sweet Georgia Peach
One Quilting Circle
KISSed Quilts

Wednesday, February 24 – Hollywood Hills
The Fit Quilter
Maria Michaels Designs

Thursday, February 25 – Desert Rose
For Quilts Sake
Lemon Tree Snippets

Friday, February 26 – Sea Salt Sandy
Tammy Silvers
KISSed Quilts
Moose Stash Quilting
Pamela Quilts

Monday, February 29 – Jersey Shore
Bea Lee
Lemon Tree Snippets

Tuesday, March 1 – Tuscany Sun
Tammy Silvers

Wednesday, March 2 – Lavish
Freemotion by the River
Moose Stash Quilting

Thursday, March 3 – Fire Island
KISSed Quilts

Friday, March 4 – Tinsel, Holiday Happenings
Purrfect Spots Designs
KISSed Quilts
Moose Stash Quilting

42 thoughts on “Planes, Trains, Automobiles – and Diamonds!

  1. I would never have realized that the rows of your quilt were assembled in that manner; thanks for sharing the process. I love the colors you used – beautiful.

  2. I love this quilt pattern and your choice of batik fabric colours are perfect!!! Thanks for all the tips too!! Oh and thanks for having a giveaway with those gorgeous fabrics!!

  3. I love your Diamond Dogs! The colors are gorgeous and the combination of the beautiful batiks and the the whimsical dogs is just inspired! I think this is my favorite Island Batik fabric collection. Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

