Splish Splash ~ Citrus Splash!

SITC smallWelcome to the latest stop on Island Batik Summer in the Country Blog Hop!  We are in full swing and I hope you’ve enjoyed the fun projects and the recipes that the Ambassadors have shared with you so far.

From Barnyards to Country Kitchens, you’ll want to visit every stop and check out the tutorials, patterns, recipes, and giveaways!  I love being an ambassador for Island Batik and it’s been exciting to preview these new fabrics and share tutorials with you. Today is my turn to inspire you with a fun project and delicious recipe!

The theme for this hop is Summer in the Country and the inspiration for my post is the juicy bright citrus colors in the County Fair Collection.

Grouping1

Trivets can add zing to your summer settings, and these Island Batik colors remind me of a slice of lemon and an orange tree. What could be a better project for a Lemon Tree Snippets than a slice of citrus?

For this quick project I selected a white print for the foundation background. The foundation circle is cut at an 11” diameter (you can adjust this to your liking). For the backing I selected the Sunflower print (County Fair #11156115). I cut a 12” square of the background fabric and a 12″ square of fusible batting and set them aside.

The wedge is drawn at  4.5 inches wide and traced onto freezer paper. Use this template to cut 8 orange and yellow wedges and place them around the perimeter of the foundation circle.

Lemonslice

Layer the 12”  backing square, right side down on your pressing board and place a 12” square of fusible batting (glue side down). I fused the background fabric and batting with a hot iron. When the backing sandwich was fused, I pinned my ‘Slice’ onto the quilt sandwich and carried it to the sewing machine.

A quick raw edge applique method makes this project a cinch! Sew around the edges of each wedge one time. For my applique, I used one of my favorite Auriful threads (Color #50) in a vibrant sunflower yellow in the top and bobbin. I love the sheen on this cotton thread. If you haven’t tried Auriful yet, I don’t know what are you waiting for!  Bonus – you can see some great eye candy on twitter if you follow @AlexVeronelli  He always shares some great quilted items via twitter!

When the applique was complete, I basted the edge of the foundation circle and trimmed the excess backing away. It was almost done, just needed to add binding. But wait – one is never enough – right! This was so much fun to make that I decided to make a second trivet with orange fabrics to go along side of the lemon slice!

Slice2

Since this is a curved edge sandwich, I made cut bias strips for the binding. My binding strips were 2-1/4”wide. The binding was machine sewn onto the slice and machine finished. You can see in the photo above that the bias binding almost wants to wrap itself around the edge of the quilt sandwich. Just finger press it down and sew.

Here is how they came out! Two citrus slices – One lemon and one orange. I think I should get my hands on some green Island Batik fabric to finish this juicy trio.

SliceProjectsFinished

By now, if you’ve been following the #Summer in the Country blog hop, you know that we’ve also been sharing some of our favorite summer recipes. One of my favorite summer treats is a Strawberry Lemonade cupcake. Sounds Refreshing..

I’m not to shy to tell you that I found the best recipe on Pinterest. Its my new favorite go to place for great recipe help. The recipe I followed is from the Chunky Chef (I love that name, don’t you?)

Strawberry-Lemonade-Cupcakes-32-PIN

I could type out the recipe for you here, but that would cut into my sewing time. To find the recipe I used, just follow the link above for the best Strawberry-Lemonade Cupcakes you’ve ever tasted! I topped mine with bits of fresh strawberries and lemons and sprinkled crystallized sugar on top for a shimmer.   Don’t forget to serve them with some chilled strawberry lemonade.

20150823_173450

But wait – there’s more!

I’m hosting fat quarter bundle give away.   I want to share these amazing fabrics with you (sorry, we already ate the cupcakes)  Check out this bundle of Island Batik County Fair fat quarters (actually, the blues are closer to half yard cuts).

SummerGiveaway

All you have to do to enter for a chance to win this collection is go to Lemon Tree Snippets on Facebook and like the page! Once you click like, tell me what you love about these fabrics or what you’ll be making with them and you will be entered in the drawing. (make sure I can contact you for your snail mail address)

Don’t worry – I won’t keep you waiting long, I’ll choose a winner on September 5th – the last day of the Summer in the Country blog hop. The blog hop table is listed below, stay tuned! And if you missed anything – go back and catch up.

Here’s the schedule, I will keep updating it with the actual links to each blog post!
8/17 – Island Batik
8/18 – KISSed Quilts – Part 1
8/19 – Kauffman Designs
8/20 – Adele Mogavero
8/21 – MooseStash Quilting
8/22 – Pamela Quilts
8/23 – Freemotion by the River
8/24 – The Patchwork Pearl
8/25 – Fun Threads Designs
8/26 – For Quilts Sake
8/27 – Lemon Tree Snippets
8/28 – Bejeweled Quilts
8/29 – Tamarinis
8/30 – KISSed Quilts – Part 2
8/31 – Beaquilter
9/1 – Purrfect Spots Designs
9/2 – Maria Michaels Designs
9/3 – Mary Mack Made Mine
9/4 – Made In Scraps
9/5 – Happy Cottage Quilter

That’s all I have for today – Enjoy your sewing projects!

43 thoughts on “Splish Splash ~ Citrus Splash!

  1. what a nice post. the fabrics are gorgeous, the cupcakes sound fabulous and a chance to win!! thank you so much!

  2. Oh, I see a recurring theme here, Lemon Tree Snippets. Lemons slices trivet, lemon cupcakes! Your the queen of Lemon (ade) LOL!! Great trivets and the cupcakes are on my must make list! Thanks for a fun post! Oh yes, and you have to get some greens Limeade coming up! 😉

  3. These trivets are totally cute and perfect for a summer table! I’m inspired to make some. Thanks for sharing! Love the fabrics too, but I’m not on facebook so I guess I can’t enter the drawing. So sad.

  4. Oh your lemon and orange slices are just adorable. Beautiful photo set up too. The fabrics are bright, right up my alley! Thanks for sharing the giveaway.

  5. Love your slices!!! How creative you are!! Awesome!
    (Love the Give-a-way…was disappointed to see have to be on FB to play…I don’t do that stuff 😦 & know others don”t either )

  6. I “liked” Lemon Tree’s fb page and what I “love” about these fabrics is the pure color and happiness it brings me! I would make a set of placemats for my outdoor table to dine during the summer.

  7. What a fun project to make, perfect for Christmas presents. What a fantastic prize on offer, I think you can never go wrong with beautiful bright batiks in your stash.

  8. Oh my gosh! Your trivets are just wonderful. SO summery. I don’t recall ever seeing something like those before. I really like them. Great job.

    And the recipe you gave us? That sounds amazing. I don’t know if I can get it past my hubby, but I’m sure gonna try. He’s not a lemon person, but having the lemon mixed with cream cheese and Cool Whip might work. I hope he loves it, because that is a great frosting recipe to keep for so many other things too. Yum. Thank you.

    I have liked your FB page, however it’s under my full name if you check to be sure those who say they have did indeed do so. If you can’t find it, give me a holler and I’ll help you out in finding it.

    Those a great fabrics. I honestly don’t have any orange fabrics at all, so that would be fun to play with, especially with Halloween coming all too soon. And those blues? Gorgeous shade of blue. They remind me of the water. I honestly don’t know right this second what I would make with them, but most likely it would be something quilty, or maybe a purse for next summer which I’d make for my MIL as a Christmas gift possibly.

  9. Thanks for the recipe! I love anything lemon! I also love the fabric! Orange is the new “in” color for me, so I’d love to include the fabrics in my next quilt Thanks for the chance to win!

  10. I would use the fabrics to make a lap quilt. Love your trivets. I liked Lemon Tree Snippets on Facebook. Thank you for the giveaway.

  11. love the fabrics. blue and orange colors go sew nicely. Would love to win this giveaway. Not quite sure what I ‘d make, but probably something for my sister since she likes orange. Maybe a bag of some kind since she just got a teaching job this fall.

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

  12. I liked your Facebook page. I love the bright and saturated colors of these fabrics. Your trivets are wonderful! I will have to make some of these for my table on the lanai. The recipe sounds great, too.

  13. These are great colors. Makes me think of oranges, lemons, just need a green for lime. Maybe I would make a runner. I really like your placemat. Could do one of each, even a blood orange would be fun.

  14. These are perfect for summer. Change the colors a little for fall, winter and spring and you’d have a set for the whole year.

  15. I love the colors! I liked the facebook page and post! I could really use this fabric in my scrappy 9 patch quilt I’m making!

  16. I liked your facebook page and post. Your slices are so delightful. I think I’d make a set of three: orange, yellow, and green. I’ve never sewn with or purchased batik. I like the look of them as they would lend themselves to most block patterns without taking away from the pattern itself. kthurn(at)bektel(dot)com

  17. Love the batiks you are giving away! Just beautiful colors. Your orange slices are cute. In fact, Hubby saw them as he was walking by and said it would make a nice quilt. There is hope for him yet! Maybe if I win, I will make him a quilt with the fabric.

Leave a Reply

