Little Fabric Bowls

I wanted to make a fabric bowl to hold my metallic eggs and I had an hour and I had the perfect fabric to do it.  I’m going to show you how I make these lovely fabric bowls. This quick project is perfect for little gifts and easy enough to make one for every occasion.

You will need:

I began by selecting two coordinating fabrics. The two fabrics shown below are by Island Batik. I’m also using Dritz InnerFuse, a double sided bonded heat activated interfacing. This provides a firm foundation that will mold easily as you begin to create the curves of the bowl.

2015-04-05 12.21.06

I admit – I have an addiction to fancy threads.  I love them all!

For this project I selected Halo by Superior Threads, Color #369. This thread complemented the warm colors of the Island Batik print nicely and would give the bowl a little sparkle.  Halo is a metallic thread that is wound with stands of polyester. I switched my needle to a #100/16 for metallic because it has a larger eye and the point is sharp enough to go through the stabilizer without fraying the strands.  Be sure to lower your top tension to reduce the friction as the stitches are formed.  For the bobbin I used Gutterman Viscose Embroidery Thread, color # 5305 Rose, 30Wt.

2015-04-05 12.32.01
Halo by Superior Threads, Color #369
2015-04-05 12.31.33
Gutterman Viscose Thread Color # 5305 Rose, 30Wt

I cut one 9-1/2″ square of fusible stabilizer and two 2-3/4″ squares of stabilizer.

Begin with a square of stabilizer and fuse the coordinating fabrics to both sides.  For my bowl below, one side will have the print fabric and the other will have the stripe.  On the small squares fuse each one with one of the fabrics.  After the fabrics are fused to the stabilizer, trim all of the pieces.

I trimmed the large square to 9″ and the small squares to 2-1/2″.  I also rounded the corners on the square. This is optional. You can leave the corners square. (Check out the book Fast, Fun, and Easy Fabric Bowls by Linda Johansen for other options!)

Find the center of your large square and stitch the coordinating smaller square to the center. Flip the piece over and position the second square inside the stitched lines. Zig-Zag stitch all the way around the square, making sure you are catching the edges on both sides. This forms the bottom of your bowl. You can vary the size of the center piece and it will change the finished shape of your bowl.

2015-04-05 12.59.54
Zig-Zag the small square to the large one

Next, create a “V” shape wedge cutout on each side of the large square.  I draw a line from the center out and then measure equal distance on each side to create my wedge.  Carefully cut these wedges down to the satin stitched square.  You will end up with 4 Petals.

2015-04-05 13.09.31

 

2015-04-05 13.10.28

The next step is where your project will begin to take its shape.  Starting from the POINTED end of the wedge cutout – using a narrow zig-zag stitch begin sewing and catching both sides of the wedge. As you sew – push the edges together. You will see your bowl begin to take shape.

2015-04-05 13.14.38

Continue this process on each side.  Set your stitch width for and your stitch length for 2.0.  Increase the width and decrease the length and sew over the line again until your stitching lines are clean and filled in with the decorative threads.

2015-04-05 13.13.38

Finshing the edges is easy if you have a coordinating cording.  I zig-zag this onto the edges, going once around the full perimeter of the bowl.  After the first pass, I increase the width of my stitch and decrease the stitch length to fill in the edge.  Go over the stitching lines several times until the edge is full and the cording is completely covered with the threads.

 

2015-04-05 13.23.24

My finished bowl was ready for the carrots and eggs!

  2015-04-05 14.04.52

This little project was the perfect center piece for our Easter picnic.

20150405_154149

Happy Stitching!

Pat

8 thoughts on “Little Fabric Bowls

  1. love your basket and the instructions are amazingly easy to follow. I have to order the book and do some creating. I also like those fabric carrots, did you also make them? Very creative indeed.

    1. Thank-you! I enjoy these quick projects and love using the fancy threads. Yes I did make those carrots too. I used a simple cone shaped cutout, sewed one seam up. I stuffed them with cotton balls, and hand stitched the tops closed with some bright green leafy cutouts (also cut by freehand – no pattern).

    1. I love the fancy threads. If you haven’t already seen it – I recommend a book called Stupendous Stitching. I may have posted a blog with a project using this book. If I have not, I will write one up soon. Great book and great way to get familiar with using all the fancy threads AND the stitches on our machines.

Leave a Reply

