Gonna Rock this Town!

Yesterday I went up to Ye Olde Forest Quilt Shop in Greensboro to attend their First Wish List Party. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I hopped in the car and headed north, but I knew I was going to have a good time.

20141122_160552

It’s the second time I’ve been to the shop and I have to say – it’s the cutest shop! They have a great selection of fabrics, patterns, tools, threads and books and I could have browsed all day. But I was there to party – and that’s exactly what we did.

This shop has one of the biggest classroom/work areas I have seen in a quilt shop. There are 4 (maybe 5) large tables set up for your workspace and the room was also filled with quilts. Big quilts hanging all around the room, design walls with quilts in progress, and displays that showcase smaller projects. They also sell Janome machines.  I haven’t tried that brand yet, but I’m sure I will soon enough.

20141122_154700

Oh!  And of course I can’t forget to mention the longarm machine!  The shop has a nice area with an APQS table. The table has 2 machine heads. There is an Ultimate I and a Millienium.  If you follow my blog – you know that my machine was an APQS Ultimate II – nicknamed Bono (for U2).  These are fabulous machines and they rent by the hour.  I don’t have anything ready just yet, but when I do – I’ll be dialing their number to reserve a few hours.

On to the party!  It was a full house with at least 6 quilters seated at each table. Each table had a presenter who had 10 minutes to ‘Show and Tell’ about some of the latest items in the shop. The presenters described the product and offered projects that could be done with the product. We saw Books, patterns, notions, and fabrics. There were layer cakes, jelly rolls, and charm squares. After 10 minutes we switched tables. We did this 4 times and then took a short break before doing it again 4 more times.

Along with showcasing the products, the shop was offering special deals, door prizes, and discounts. I won a pack of charm squares – Comma, by Moda and a pattern to make a quilted patchwork pouch.

20141123_224111

It was the first party I’ve been invited to since I moved to North Carolina and I’m looking forward to many more.

Happy Quilting!

Pat

Links:

Ye Olde Forest Quilt Shop 

Lemon Tree Snippets on Facebook

 

One thought on “Gonna Rock this Town!

Leave a Reply

