Binding Agreement

I admit it ~ Binding a quilt is my least favorite part of making a quilt. There, I said it!

Now that I’ve said it, I’m going to create a BINDING CONTRACT with myself. For the next 4 weeks I’m going to have a Finish-It Friday deadline.  By placing the details of the contract here, I am establishing a written agreement which I am obligated to follow.  It may be just the push I need to get these done this summer.

binding1

Two days ago (Friday) I had 5 quilts to bind. Yes – 5!  I finished one on Friday (the Stained Glass quilt at the top of this stack) so there are 4 remaining quilts ready to bind.   This agreement states that by Friday – each week – for the next 4 weeks (including my vacation week) I will have one of these done.

I can do this!

I wouldn’t be in this bind (pun intended) if I were the type of quilter who finishes a quilt before starting a new one. But, without a doubt, I’m not a TYPE A personality, and that probably won’t change any time soon. Attaching the binding often gets overlooked on my quilts because there are too many books, patterns and techniques to try and I get distracted far too easily.

Now, there are 4 quilts stacked neatly and displayed where I can see them when I go into the sewing room. I even have double fold binding made for 2 of them. I’ve selected a leftover fabric for the 3rd quilt and purchased a yard of fabric to make the binding on the 4th (and final) one.

I’ve been making quilts for a long time, so BINDING is nothing new to me. In fact, I’ve made and attached my binding in a number of different ways.

binding2

  • I’ve cut the strips on the straight of grain and on the bias
  • I’ve cut strips ranging from 2” to 2.5”
  • I’ve used the double fold method and the single fold method
  • I’ve joined my strips with straight seams, and I’ve joined them on the diagonal
  • I’ve learned my favorite method to end is to overlay and miter the ends so that there is no real ending.

Lately though, I’ve been using the double fold method on 2.5” strips, machine sewn to the front on the raw edges, and machine finished from the front with a straight stitch in the ditch. For me, this seems to work and I like the results.

binding3

What do you have in your quilting rooms that you neglect to finish? Maybe you can join me in a Finish-It Friday pact. I’ll do my binding and you can finish something of yours. Its one way to tack those UFO’s (unfinished objects) hiding in our quilt rooms. When I’m done these bindings – I think I’ll work on the rest of the UFO’s.

By the way – in case you’re wondering which UFO is going on vacation with me, the answer is simple.  The SMALLEST one, the one I call Almost Amish!

Embracing Optimism!
Patti

 

Leave a Reply

