Picking up the Pieces

Last week the east coast got nailed by yet another day of snow. My office was closed and in essence we were snowed in again. By noon I had a pot of soup simmering and a dozen apple cinnamon muffins baked. My work in the kitchen was done for the day and I had time to go down into the sewing room and play.

As soon as I looked at my stash I knew – I just knew – that I wasn’t going to make anything wintery. I wanted warmth and color, flowers and springtime! I had the perfect collection of bright florals in my stash. A collection of one yard cuts by Valori Wells.

2014-02-13 12.42.41

I purchased these fabrics because they made me happy. And I’ve enjoyed looking at them for a long time, but today was going to be their time to shine. I found a simple pattern, published in BHG’s American Patchwork and Quilting, April 2007.   The simple pattern, and large pieces would let my fabrics be the star of the show. The pattern is called Spice Market by Bill Kerr and Weeks Ringle of Modern Quilt Studio (formerly FunQuilts).

2014-02-26 22.50.19

With my pattern and rotary cutter I was ready to cut into these garden beauties.

The cutting and sewing instructions were very straight forward. Cut strips, sew them into strip pairs, and then join the pairs into strip sets.  Once the strip pairs are sewn together they are cross-cut into 7″ and 1-3/4″ units. These units are then laid out in horizontal rows alternating in colors. (I love this part of any project)  The piecing is exceptionally simple, especially when you use the Ideal Seam Guide to help keep those long strips aligned as you sew. By the end of the day I had the pieces arranged in a pretty nice layout on my design floor.

florabundance
Strip sets are easy when I use my Ideal Seam Guide by Sew Very Smooth!

I’m going to call this quilt Florabundance. There are 3 words in that one word that make it the perfect name for this quilt.  Flora – Abundance – Dance  This quilt has an abundance of flowers and it makes me want to dance.  By the end of the day I had finished my strip sets, cross-cut the units and laid them out in what I thought would be the finished arrangement. I was ready to sew them into the quilt!

2014-02-13 23.18.34

Unfortunately, even the best laid plans (and quilt pieces) can go awry when an unexpected turn of events alters your plan.   And when we noticed the water seeping into the basement, The first thing I did was to pick up those pieces, and here is what I am left to work with now.

2014-02-26 22.51.10

I’m going to be in the basement this weekend, cleaning up after the water, putting things right and seeing if I can rearrange these into something again.  I am Picking up the Pieces!  Who knows – I may come up with something completely different with these pieces.

~ Happy Quilting ~

Pat

7 thoughts on “Picking up the Pieces

  1. Hey thatt is cool, love the pastel colors. Looking forward to seeing what you do with the pieces this time. I have never seen that ideal seam guide, but it is definitely what I need.

  2. You could also use your picture as a guide to arranging them back the way they were. Might take awhile though. Depends on how set you were on that layout.

Leave a Reply

