Grand Convergence

I’m on a bender.  A quilt bender is somewhat like a drinking spree but my vice is threads and fabric, I’m obsessed and addicted.  Last week I was in a seminar with Ricky Tims and came home inspired to start my first Convergence Quilt.  I already had his book and the right fabrics in my stash.  What I brought home from the workshop was inspiration and motivation and a little bit of Ricky’s contagious enthusiasm for this magical technique.

2014-01-26 16.56.28

I was ready to go!  I got up on Sunday morning and pulled the freezer paper out of the drawer and created my pattern.  I didn’t spend too much time on this step, the free-form concept and easy piecing technique lend well to this simple improvisational quilt method.

2014-01-26 17.06.37

Once my pattern was drawn to my liking (I did change my mind in a couple of places)  I marked the pieces with numbers, grain lines, and registration marks.  To avoid working against the grain, each piece is marked with arrows that denote the straight grain of the fabric.  The wiggly lines on each piece aid in matching them back up after they are cut.  Finally, I put registration dots on the cut lines to  assure that the pieces are sewn back together in the right order.

2014-01-26 17.13.14

I work a full time job, yet I always try to squeeze in a few hours of quilting during the week. This week, before work each morning, I took a little bit of time to sew a few of the segments together. It was the end of a busy quarter (at the day job) and I needed a creative outlet to relieve some of the office stress.  Improvisational piecing (aka: Caveman Quilting) was a great way to unwind and let go.  I felt a little bit like I was on a sewing bender, obsessed with this project and anxious to see how the foundation for my Convergence Quilt would turn out.

2014-01-28 07.56.06

Friday morning, I finished the foundation and I’m pleased with the result. Both of the fabrics that I used in this foundation have a linear motion.   I made the decision to run the pattern in the same direction for both of these contrasting colors. The colors make me think of a sunset and the sea. I opted to piece it this way, as apposed to cutting the fabrics so the lines would end up perpendicular because the convergence fabric has a random splashy design that incorporates most of these colors. I like the strong horizontal flow in the foundation and I think it will add harmony to the convergence.

randomsplashy

Today I am going to start the Convergence.  I haven’t decided yet if I will use equal distance slices or the variable width method. I’m leaning on using the inside out method where the strips start narrow in the center and get wider as they move outward. Now that my foundation panel is done, I’m ready to Divide and Conquer. I can’t wait to see where this magical mystery tour will take me next.

2014-01-30 07.47.32

Happy Quilting!
Pat

One thought on “Grand Convergence

Leave a Reply

