Snow days were made for stash projects!

stash2Snow days were made for hot chocolate, old movies, and stash projects.  The weather this  month has been unpredictable. We’ve had warm days, cold days, rainy days and snow days.  A few weekends ago we had snow on a Sunday – it was heavy snow and the forecast was for snow all day. I knew I was going to have the whole day to work on something Quilty in studio.  In case your not familiar with my obsession – my studio is synonymous with ‘man cave’. There are subtle differences however. I don’t have a pool table – I have a cutting table,  my poker chips are more like buttons and threads, and instead reaching for fat cigar – I reach for my fat quarters.

I love snow days in the studio.

With Christmas right around the corner, I thought it would be fun to make something festive. Since it was snowing, there wouldn’t be a SEX (Stash Enhancement eXcursion – this is quilt lingo for fabric shopping trip). I would have to make this project from fabric already on my shelf.  No problem — I have plenty of fabric in my stash.  The project had to be simple enough to finish in one day because the busy Christmas season was here and I didn’t want to add another UFO (UnFinished Object) to my list of projects to finish in 2014.

Kit2Oh Yes!  I found a pattern for a Christmas Card holder by Thimbleberries that I have wanted to make for myself for a while. I bought this as a kit so this already had the fabrics in the right colors and quantity.  Finding it was like unwrapping a gift and seeing it for the first time. I was so excited!  I was ready to start my Snow Day Quilt!

I put an old movie and started cutting according to the instructions. I had everything I needed to finish this today!   I only came up from the cave occasionally to see how much snow had fallen, and to refill my tea cup

2013-12-08 19.47.07

The pattern was simple, But I wanted to make one block to see how it went together. I made the background and then added the pockets. I follow the golden rule when I’m trying a new pattern.  Measure twice —  cut once.

Simple enough!  I was happy with the first pocket so I chain pieced the next five.  This was going pretty well!  The pockets are made out of squares, folded over into a triangle with a layer of batting to add padding to the project. The pockets also have a one inch strip, folded over the edge and stitched on the seam. This gave the pocket a nice 3-D look and finished it very nice. The pockets were done! 

2013-12-08 19.06.07

That was the hard part. The sashing and borders were easy. I was into the home stretch.  So far its taken only 3 hours to cut and piece the quilt top.  Not bad for a snow day project.

Quilting it was simple. I used the SID (Stitch in the Ditch) method and followed the basic outline of each block.  Straight down the borders, no fancy stitches. It only took another hour and a half to finish the quilting and another hour for binding.  I added triangle rod pockets to the back of each corner. I did this so I could use a yard stick and command strips for hanging.  I like this look because the quilt appears to float on the wall.

cardholder
Christmas Card Quilt Pattern by Thimbleberries – Finished size 28″ x 40″

TaDa! 

A Christmas Card holder I can hang on my wall and fill with all of the warm greetings from family and friends. Here is the finished quilt.

I like making new quilts from my stash, it feels good to use up the supplies I already have on hand. Sometimes it just takes me a while to get to the point where I am ready to cut into it. There is something about having those stacks of colorful fabrics on the shelf that makes me feel secure.  I can’t explain it – it is all a part of the fabric addiction I struggle with.

I may even make a few for my family for next year.

Happy Quilting!
Pat

For more quick projects visit the Funky Polkadot Giraffe and check out Too Cute Tuesday

Leave a Reply

